Improving Diversity Hiring In Tech

TechCrunch

[tc_contributor_byline slug=”wendell-tull”]

I see a lot of articles written by well-intentioned people about how tech companies want to attract more diverse candidates. Usually, I don’t get more than three sentences in before I read about how the organization is making an effort to attract talent from historically black colleges and universities (or HBCUs, as we call them in my line of work). While the sentiment is in the right place, these kinds of diversity initiatives often fail in the execution.

In the San Francisco Bay Area where I live, you can stand on any street corner and watch who’s getting onto the buses that travel to the headquarters of the big-name tech giants. It’s easy to see how minorities in surrounding communities could be left with the message that those buses are not for them.

I started my technical recruiting career at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory. I was able to hire…

View original post 883 more words

